Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Book Review // Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

Leave a comment

DangerousGirls

Format: eBook
Published: 18th July 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s UK
Pages: 401

jscraps_crush_paper_5

This is a non-spoiler review.

My Thoughts:

I read this book whilst in a massive reading slump, so it took me forever. I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as I normally would have for this reason.

Dangerous Girls is a YA Thriller that tells the story of a group of friends on vacation in Aruba. A tragedy happens – one of the group is murdered – and we are consequently led through Anna’s trial as she is the main suspect. I really liked the style of writing and the little ‘extras’ that the author gave us – a 911 transcript, TV interview etc. It made me feel like I was truly part of the plot, always guessing what was going to happen next. I never knew who to trust!

I loved the intensity and mystery throughout this book. I was constantly judging people, forming my own opinions of what could have happened. It was fast-paced, with lots of twists and turns. I was completely gripped!

The ending confused the hell out of me. I mean, what just happened? I still don’t really get it, if I’m honest. It shocked me, I was so sure of the outcome – so it threw me completely. As a reader, we don’t actually get to ‘see’ the murder scene, we never know the full details of that night. Although this was an unusual decisions, I liked this– it added to the mystery.

There wasn’t one character I trusted in this book. Tate frustrated me so much, I thought he was sly and conniving – I think this was intended. His relationship with Anna raised so many questions for me from the start, there were so many little hints that it wasn’t all what it seemed. I still felt that he was completely besotted with Anna, again raising so many questions.

Anna and Elise’s relationship was a little uncomfortable for me at times, again I think this was intended. I never really knew what their true ‘status’ was, but I could feel the intensity the whole time – it was compelling to read.

I felt sorry for Anna, her friends seemed to totally abandon her. Although, as the story is told from her POV I do think that I ‘bonded’ with her differently. There were lots of ‘red herrings’ in the book, that kept steering me in completely different directions.

Overall, a fast-paced enjoyable read. I think I will aim to re-read this at some point, as I feel like my head wasn’t really in it. A great YA thriller, with lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing again and again.

Dangerous Girls is currently only 99p in the kindle store, click here (price correct at time of posting).

StarRating4 out of 5 stars

Abigail Haas is a pseudonym for Abby McDonald.

Website: abbymcdonald.com
Twitter: @abbymcdonald

 

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

