Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Book Review // Charm by Sarah Pinborough

Leave a comment

17899321

Format: Hardback
Published: 18th July 2013
Publisher: Gollancz
Pages: 224

BUY: Amazon | Book Depository

This book will count towards my British Book Challenge.

Synopsis taken from Amazon:

CHARM is a beautifully illustrated re-telling of the Cinderella story which takes all the much-loved elements of the classic fairytale (the handsome prince, the fairy godmother, the enchanted mouse, the beautiful girl and, of course, the iconic balls) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires.

This is fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of ONCE UPON A TIME, GRIMM, SNOW WHITE AND THE HUNTSMAN and more.

My Thoughts:

I actually enjoyed this novel more than the first in the trilogy, Poison. The second instalment tells a reworked version of Cinderella, with appearances from characters who appear in the first novel.

The plot worked well for me, it was fast-paced and actually only took me just over a day to read. Again, Sarah Pinborough has shown her talent as a creative storyteller. The way in which she has created new, modernised characters and reinvented a well-known fairytale is truly commendable. I really enjoyed how the story went along, I was engaged throughout.

I liked the dark, slightly twisted edge that these retellings have. They aren’t all sweetness, light and ‘Disney-esque’. There is a particular scene involving a little toe, which definitely isn’t part of the Disney version – it was quite gory. I actually liked the darker side to them, it became rather refreshing!

The imagery and descriptions throughout were so vivid, the prose was so well-written and flowed beautifully. Sarah Pinborough writes so effortlessly. I didn’t find the sexual scenes so awkward this time either, which was a plus for me.

The epilogue of this one surprised me. Strange, yet it worked and I definitely didn’t see it coming.

I will read Beauty to finish of the trilogy (and tick another goal off of my 2015 Reading Challenge).

StarRating4 out of 5 stars

Website: www.sarahpinborough.com
Twitter: @SarahPinborough

 

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

