Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a comment

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted buy The Broke and The Bookish. Each week they post a new topic and invite everyone to share their lists.

Top10

Ten things I like/dislike when it comes to romance in books

Okay, so I found this topic really quite tricky this week. I don’t really think I read too many ‘romance’ novels, although I read books that have romantic relationships in them (obvs!).

I have split this in half, firstly 5 things I love in romances:

1. I adore it when an author builds a relationship from a friendship first. I have rarely come across this in novels – I enjoy reading how two people who have a great friendship learn to love and cherish each other. I think this is so much more realistic. I know that my relationship with my husband was built up on friendship first.

2. It has to be realistic. Don’t give me relationships that are clearly false, pretentious and would never, ever happen. I think this is more important in chick-lit/contemporary novels as opposed to dystopian/sci-fi worlds.

3. Chemistry! There has to be chemistry in the relationship. I want that sparkle and fizz, the fitting together of two people like they should have always been together.

4. I like a gradual build up of feelings and emotions, that develop over time (linking back to #1 here slightly). Show me how two people get to know each other, however turbulent that journey might be.

5. Swoon-worthy, genuine male characters. I do love a bad boy, but not to the point of aggression/abuse. I think this is such a touchy topic, I know that important issues need to be written about. Give me a tall, dark, dreamy protagonist any day of the week.

Image credit

Things I dislike:

1. Insta-love! Cringe. I hate it when there is no build up in a relationship, I want to get to know them as individuals and follow their relationship as it blossoms.

2.When relationships cross the line into abuse/aggression (see #5 above).

3. Females that lose their identity because of a man. I like independent female characters, who stay true to themselves even when sucked in to the world of love and romance.

4. When relationships are unrealistic.

5. I’m not a huge fan of the New Adult type of genre/description of romance (think Fifty Shades of Grey, which I haven’t read as I couldn’t bring myself to). I cannot work out why – I am by no means a prude. It just makes me uncomfortable. I know that it is realistic, sex in relationships happens – I just find it difficult to read about it in graphic detail. I know that some people love this, it just isn’t for me.

Image credit

I actually found this week pretty tough but was determined to participate as I have done every TTT so far in 2015.

Happy Reading!

Stacie and Grant

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

