Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Book Review // Vendetta – Catherine Doyle

Leave a comment

Vendetta

Format: Paperback
Published: 1st January 2015
Publisher: Chicken House Ltd
Pages: 384
Series/Standalone?: Series (Blood for Blood)
Genre: YA Contemporary

BUY: Amazon | Book Depository

This book is counting towards my 2015 Reading Challenge.

Challenge4

Synopsis taken from Amazon:

When five brothers move into the abandoned mansion next door, Sophie Gracewell’s life changes forever. Irresistibly drawn to bad boy Nic, Sophie finds herself falling into an underworld governed by powerful families. When Sophie’s own family skeletons come to life, she must choose between two warring dynasties – the one she was born into, and the one she is falling in love with. When she does, blood will spill and hearts will break…

My Thoughts:

After hearing so many great reviews about this book I was really looking forward to it. I was so excited when I saw it in the library! I enjoyed it, but I have to say I didn’t love it as much as other people have – I can’t really put my finger on why.

The premise of this novel is exciting – a kind of modern twist on the classic Romeo & Juliet tale, warring families, dark secrets and lots of action. I did get a sense of the Romeo & Juliet vibe throughout the novel – Sophie & Nic’s relationship is definitely turbulent! I loved that they were completely different yet very similar, if that makes sense.

The brothers themselves were rather dreamy. The mystery surrounding them makes them even more appealing in my eyes, I was left wondering about them the whole time. I will say that the author did a very good job at keeping me on my toes, I didn’t guess the plot twist towards the end at all. The imagery and description within the novel is brilliant. The author does a really good job at describing every image, scene and emotion so vividly – you do feel like you are really there.

I felt like the last third of the book was certainly the best. It was the bit that I sped through, wanting to know what happened next. The novel itself – for me anyway – felt like more of a ‘setting the scene’ book. Being the first in the series I can see that the second instalment may provide us with lots more action and the idea of the ‘family legacy’.

Vendetta

Parts of the story did feel a little unrealistic to me. Towards the end Sophie finds herself in a very sticky situation. I would be very surprised if a girl of 17 was able to react in the way that she did – adrenalin kick or not. I also preferred Luca to Nicoli. Nic’s reactions irritated me – I felt he blew hot and cold all the time, Luca was true to himself throughout.

I think the series will definitely improve as the series moves forward. I am curious as to what Catherine Doyle will bring us in book 2.

StarRating3 out of 5 stars

Website: www.catherinedoylebooks.com
Twitter: @doyle_cat

 

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

