Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

The Selection – Kiera Cass

Leave a comment

The Selection

Format: Paperback
Published: 26th March 2013
Publisher: Harper Teen
Pages: 327
Series/Standalone?: Series
Genre: Young Adult

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

 Synopsis taken from Amazon:

Thirty-five beautiful girls. Thirty-five beautiful rivals…

It’s the chance of a lifetime and 17-year-old America Singer should feel lucky. She has been chosen for The Selection, a reality TV lottery in which the special few compete for gorgeous Prince Maxon’s love.

Swept up in a world of elaborate gowns, glittering jewels and decadent feasts, America is living a new and glamorous life. And the prince takes a special interest in her, much to the outrage of the others.

Rivalry within The Selection is fierce and not all of the girls are prepared to play by the rules. But what they don’t know is that America has a secret – one which could throw the whole competition… and change her life forever.

My Thoughts:

I thought The Selection was a great YA read. Quick and easy with a good plot and character development. I was intrigued by the premise of this one, reality TV mixed with princes, glitz and glamour and competition?! Yes please!

America was a great character, she showed compassion and kindness yet stood her ground at times. I was a little frustrated that sometimes she did come across as weak, but overall her hot-headed, opinionated character came through. I felt that the build up of her relationship with Prince Maxon was the main plot to this novel, not much else really happened. That was fine by me though! I liked seeing their relationship grow and change – it was very refreshing for a couple to be simply good friends. I was constantly wondering whether she would or wouldn’t fall for him. I definitely preferred her and Maxon to her and Aspen. The relationship with Aspen annoyed me a little, although I was happy with the outcome. It was clear who she should have chosen from the off.

I hope you find someone you can’t live without.I really do. And I hope you never have to know what it’s like to have to try and live without them.

I would have liked more world building, I didn’t get to know the palace or its other inhabitants very well and would have loved too – maybe this is more prominent in Book #2? The whole class system was interesting and well developed, the society was well built. There was a section in which the girls go through a history lesson, which I felt was oddly placed. It was the only section which discussed how their society was created, I wish more attention had been paid to this in order to give me a clearer understanding.

The first book appears to be setting the scene for the series giving a brief insight into the competition, the girls, the royals and the main character, America. I hope that Book #2 gives us more background and depth into the society these girls are placed into.

I will certainly be picking up The Elite, after I’ve read 4 more books off my TBR (I’m challenging myself to Project 5 books!).

 

www.kieracass.com
@kieracass

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

