Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Paper Swans – Jessica Thompson

Leave a comment

PaperSwans

Format: Paperback
Published: 31st July 2014
Publisher: Coronet
Pages: 441
Series/Standalone?: Standalone
Genre: Contemporary Adult Fiction – Chick Lit

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review – thank you BookBridgr!

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

 Synopsis taken from Amazon:

Ben Lawrence seems to have it all – the hot job, the flashy car, the luxurious apartment. But one tragic day in his past mars his future.

Since the events of that day he hasn’t truly got close to anyone.

He made a promise that love was the price he would pay for his mistakes.

When Effy Jones – a bright, ambitious charity founder – walks into the PR firm where Ben works, neither realise that their lives are about to be turned upside down.

Paper Swans tells of how love can conquer all, and how when everything is broken one person can help to put the pieces together…

My Thoughts:

First of all – isn’t this cover beautiful? I absolutely loved it, it was solely what drew me to the book, having never read a book by Jessica Thompson before.

I read this after taking a little break from my fantasy kick and wasn’t disappointed. It was a quick and easy read, which I managed to steam through in about 2 days – on and off. It took a little while for me to get into the novel, but once I was past the first few chapters I felt more invested in the story.

Paper Swans is a romantic, chick lit novel with a darker edge and twist within the plot. I enjoyed the unravelling of Ben’s story – I was always guessing what had truly caused his pain and suffering. The novel deals with mental illness and grief in a sensitive way, yet still manages to get across the true impact of this illness on the sufferer and their life, and the way if affects those people around them. Ben’s grief is alluded to throughout the novel, but we don’t really find out the whole story until right at the very end. This added a lot of intrigue, to what is essentially a love story.

Both of the main protagonists are likeable characters – I enjoyed each of their quirks and traits. I thought Ben’s vulnerability was portrayed well. I enjoyed Effy’s story – setting up her charity, Dafina Kampala. This is something I haven’t come across in a novel before and enjoyed this aspect immensely.

Effy sets up her charity in Africa which holds a special place in my heart. I visited Kenya back in 2009 and absolutely fell in love with it and hope to revisit one day. I think this was the winner for me, a book partly set in a country I love – what more could I want?

The only element that did frustrate me a little – although this didn’t affect my overall rating – was some of the decisions Effy made. I thought some were slightly unrealistic.

Overall, I enjoyed this story with it’s unusual plot twist. A light-hearted book for reading by the pool, whilst soaking up the sun.

 

www.jessicathompsonbooks.com
@Jthompsonauthor

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

