Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Crown of Midnight – Sarah J Maas

Leave a comment

CoM

Format: Paperback
Published: 15th August 2013
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens UK
Pages: 418
Series/Standalone?: Series – Throne of Glass #2
Genre: YA Fantasy

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

 Synopsis taken from Amazon:

Eighteen-year-old Celaena Sardothien is bold, daring and beautiful – the perfect seductress and the greatest assassin her world has ever known. But though she won the King’s contest and became his champion, Celaena has been granted neither her liberty nor the freedom to follow her heart. The slavery of the suffocating salt mines of Endovier that scarred her past is nothing compared to a life bound to her darkest enemy, a king whose rule is so dark and evil it is near impossible to defy. Celaena faces a choice that is tearing her heart to pieces: kill in cold blood for a man she hates, or risk sentencing those she loves to death. Celaena must decide what she will fight for: survival, love or the future of a kingdom. Because an assassin cannot have it all . . . And trying to may just destroy her.

Love or loathe Celaena, she will slice open your heart with her dagger and leave you bleeding long after the last page of this New York Times bestselling sequel, in what is undeniably THE hottest new fantasy series.

My Thoughts:

Okay, so – I didn’t know where to start with this review. I loved this book so much that I wanted to write a coherent review, without over the top gushing! Eek! I will attempt to keep this short and sweet.

I absolutely loved this sequel to Throne of Glass. After enjoying the first novel and enjoying it, but not absolutely loving it – I was apprehensive. All I can say is WOW! – this was so much better than the first one in my opinion.

Crown of Midnight took me a few chapters to become completely hooked. Once I was hooked, I could not put this down – managing to finish this in a day or two! It had the right amount of love, lust, action, suspense, drama, fantasy, magic – and then some.

I loved the development of relationships in this novel. Chaol is my ultimate, all time favourite male protagonist. Totally swoon-worthy, everyone needs a Chaol in their life. Thank you to Sarah J Maas for creating this absolutely gorgeous, heart-throb of a character!

I was completely shocked at (what I would consider) the two main plot reveals – I had no idea that they were going to happen in the way that they did. Celaena showed more vulnerability in this sequel, whilst remaining totally kick ass! We learn more about her and I empathised more with her in this novel, I grew to like her even more.

Sarah J Maas manages to write in a way that completely captivates and engages – the whole way through. There was never a dull moment, I truly felt like I was in the castle corridors and rooms with the characters – plotting, planning and scheming.

I absolutely NEED Heir of Fire now – 11th September cannot come quick enough. This is a fantasy series that I feel could be on par with Harry Potter – the anticipation of each novel is intense. If you haven’t read it, then do – you will not be disappointed.

www.sarahjmaas.com
@SJMaas

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

