Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Eeny Meeny – M.J. Arlidge

Leave a comment

EenyMeeny

Format: Paperback
Published: 8th May 2014
Publisher: Penguin UK
Pages: 364
Series/Standalone?: Series
Score: 5 out of 5

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

 Synopsis taken from Amazon:

Eeny Meeny is the rocket-paced serial-killer thriller debut from M. J. Arlidge.

The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it.

Days later, another desperate escapee is found – and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: kill or be killed.

Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind?

Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors – living calling cards – who hold the key to the case.

And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die . . .

My Thoughts:

I loved this novel! I was craving a crime novel, packed full of action and suspense – this one did not disappoint! I am so glad that the second instalment is due to be published in September, I have already pre-ordered.

This book was a good, strong thriller novel. I powered through this in two days, whilst working full time and putting on a summer production – I just couldn’t put it down. I read it every spare minute I had.

The plot kept me guessing throughout the whole novel, I didn’t know who the true murderer was until all was revealed. The storyline incorporates an element of the ‘Saw’ movies, the idea of victims making the ultimate decisions on who dies and who survives. Some of the circumstances were truly horrific, I loved the detail of some of the gory scenes.

There were a lot of characters to follow. Some likeable, some not so much – just how I like it. Each character was so well developed and thought out that I had no problems at all following who was who and their back story. The plot all tied together perfectly, with bits of the ‘jigsaw’ matching up logically. Character motives were always thought through and believable. The novel is split into short chapters, usually switching between multiple POV’s – easy to follow, I didn’t find any flaws or issues with this.

Like I said I have already pre-ordered the next one. If you love crime/thriller novels, this one is definitely for you!

A fantastic, keep-you-on-the-edge-of-your-seat, thriller novel, packed full of suspense, action and mystery. A fast paced, unputdownable read that I didn’t want to end! Cannot wait for the next instalment.

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

