Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

#Sunathon Update 1

Leave a comment

Hello!

So I have been taking part in the #Sunathon challenge this week, hosted here. I have been doing pretty well, considering I worked Monday and half a day on Tuesday.

TheBookThief

I managed to finish The Book Thief – wow, what an amazing read. Cannot wait to watch the film, although I think many tears may be shed. I will post a full review soon.

Heroic

I am now about 70 pages into Heroic by Phil Earle. I purchased this from The Book People one afternoon whilst browsing their website (which is amazing by the way if you live in the UK!). I hadn’t heard anything about this novel, so decided to pick it up as the synopsis sounded interesting.

Synopsis taken from Amazon:

‘For the past five weeks I’d prayed that I’d never see my brother’s name spelt out in poppies. In the weeks that followed I often wished I had.’

Jammy and Sonny McGann are brothers, but that’s where the similarities end. One is calm when the other is angry; one has a plan while the other lives purely in the moment.

When Jammy returns from Afghanistan a very different man to the one who left, it’s Sonny who is left to hold things together. But just how far will he go to save the brother who always put him first?

Inspired by S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders and by the battles facing young soldiers all over the world, this is a devastating novel about brotherhood and sacrifice, from the award-winning author of Being Billy and Saving Daisy.

The story is very current and after reading Looking at the Stars earlier in the year I knew that I would like the subject matter. I am really enjoying it so far, looking to finish it today.

How have you been doing with your #sunathon reading?

Happy Reading!

x

 

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

