Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Trouble – Non Pratt

Leave a comment

Trouble

Format: Paperback
Published: 6th March 2014
Publisher: Walker
Pages: 384
Series/Standalone?: Standalone
Score: 5 out of 5

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

 Synopsis taken from Amazon:

Hannah’s smart and funny … she’s also fifteen and pregnant. Aaron is new at school and doesn’t want to attract attention. So why does he offer to be the pretend dad to Hannah’s unborn baby? Growing up can be trouble but that’s how you find out what really matters.

My Thoughts:

Just what I needed after the disappointment of the last book I read. A funny, witty, touching novel about growing up, teenage pregnancy, friends and foes with so many twists and turns along the way. A brilliant debut YA novel, one that I absolutely loved from start to end.

Our two main protagonists are Hannah and Aaron. Hannah is fifteen, pregnant and has a huge secret. Aaron is the new boy, mysterious yet cool, also harbouring a secret from his past. Their worlds collide and they are thrown together. The book details their journey and struggles with teenage life.

The plot is so well written and completely absorbing. I found myself going to read a few pages, stopping 100 pages later! Split into two narrative voices, it was great to see the POV from both sides. I felt like I was in on the action and drama, getting to know the characters like friends. The author has clearly done her research – language and social media used, characters reactions and emotions – all are so realistic. I work with teenagers from Monday to Friday, trust me – this book is definitely a true reflection of the reality of teenage angst, drama and emotions.

All of the characters were well developed, I loved the two main protagonists for all of their similarities and differences. I despised Katie (the so-called best friend) and enjoyed Aaron’s relationship with Neville (the old guy Aaron befriends as a volunteer in a care home).

I guessed Hannah’s secret at the start, although the plot development surrounding this did not disappoint me. I usually guess plot details, much to my annoyance. My husband hates watching films with me because I will say my predictions, and they are pretty much always right! Aaron’s secret on the other hand was harder for me to pinpoint, I didn’t really gain much information from his narrative. This made the final reveal more compelling for me, it showed a different side to his character too.

Overall, a fantastic read. I will be recommending this one to my school library! Grab a copy and read right now, what are you waiting for?

A superbly comical, witty yet touching read. Full of teenage angst and drama, surprises, empathy and comeuppance. A true reflection of teenagers and their lives, a fantastic YA debut novel! Can’t wait to read more from Non Pratt.

 

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

