Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Dead Silent – Sharon Jones

Leave a comment

    DSFormat: e-Arc (Netgalley)*

    *I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Published: 6th February 2014

    Publisher: Orchard Books

    Pages: 336  Series: Poppy Sinclair #2

    Score: 4 out of 5

    Buy from Amazon

Synopsis taken from Amazon:

Shrouded in secrets, the truth is murder…A Poppy Sinclair Thriller.

When Poppy Sinclair and her boyfriend visit snowy Cambridge, she doesn’t expect to discover the body of a student – arms outstretched in the act of smearing bloody angel wings on the chapel’s floor.

Suddenly, Poppy is faced with the possibility that the one closest to her heart might be the one committing the most malicious of crimes.
Dodging porters and police, dreading what she might find, Poppy follows the clues left by a murderer bent on revenge…

Long-hidden secrets are chillingly revealed, an avenging angel seeks forgiveness and red-hot vengeance must be quelled in the amazing new Poppy Sinclair thriller.

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this novel! This is the second book starring Poppy Sinclair, I haven’t read the first one. This does not matter in the slightest, you can read this as a complete standalone novel. It is also a YA mystery novel, which is rare in my opinion.

The relationship between Poppy and her boyfriend Michael was perfect. I really felt their teenage angst, affection, lust and longing for each other on every page. It wasn’t gushy or overly romantic though, a huge plus for me! I loved how they were torn between right and wrong, heart over head and it always kept me thinking ‘Will they? Won’t they?’.

The plot was good. It wasn’t predictable, it definitely kept me guessing. All of the characters were well developed and the story was certainly jam-packed from the start. I enjoyed how the murder mystery plot unfolded, it had fantastic pace throughout. I also enjoyed the setting, a YA novel set in the UK – what could be better?

There are elements of the paranormal in this novel. This was well thought through and effective. I enjoyed some elements of this. Parts of the story seemed a bit drawn out and over the top. It was a surprise, the synopsis did not give too much away. I did find myself questioning why Poppy made some of the decisions she did, getting a little frustrated with her at times.

I enjoyed this YA murder mystery. The pace was snappy with twists and turns on every page.

Thank you to the publisher for giving me a review copy.

‘A good YA mystery novel filled with suspense and drama, believable characters and relationships, in a picturesque setting. A plot full of twists and turns which will keep you wondering who the culprit really is.’

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

