Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Scarlet – Marissa Meyer

Leave a comment

Scarlet    Format: Paperback (Library)

    Published: 7th February 2013

    Publisher: Puffin

    Pages: 464

    Score: 3 out of 5

    Amazon | The Book Depository

Synopsis taken from Amazon:

This is not the fairytale you remember. But it’s one you won’t forget.

Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. The police have closed her case. The only person Scarlet can turn to is Wolf, a street fighter she does not trust, but they are drawn to each other.

Meanwhile, in New Beijing, Cinder will become the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive – when she breaks out of prison to stay one step ahead of vicious Queen Levana.

As Scarlet and Wolf expose one mystery, they encounter Cinder and a new one unravels. Together they must challenge the evil queen, who will stop at nothing to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner…

My Thoughts:

Firstly, I enjoyed Cinder, the first in the Lunar Chronicles series when I read it last year. I liked Cinder and thought her character was strong, her relationships with Kai and Iko were also well developed. I had high hopes for this novel – a continuation of Cinder’s journey with new, fresh characters thrown in.

I liked it, I just didn’t enjoy it as much as the first. However, it was a light, easy read which provides a fairly good sequel to the previous story. I enjoyed how the two stories intertwined, the plot was cleverly developed and the attention to detail was impressive. The action builds up gradually in this novel, this became a little frustrating for me. The last portion of the book proved the strongest – it’s where all the action happens and the story really begins to unfold.

I did not find Scarlet’s story or her character nearly as likeable as Cinder’s. I wasn’t overwhelmed by her plight. Wolf was very stereotypical, although I liked the air of vulnerability that surrounded him. I found myself wanting to get on with Cinder’s story – I wasn’t really that fussed about Scarlet and her love affair with a ‘monster’.

One character I really loved was Thorne! If the story had not included Cinder, Iko or Thorne it would have been a pretty dull read. These characters are far more interesting, the growing relationship between Thorne and Cinder was great. I really enjoyed his wit and humour thoughout too. I hope that his character will appear, and be developed even further, in Cress.

Overall, an okay read – I liked it. I am interested in what happens to Cinder and Thorne, so will probably pick up the third novel soon.

‘A good read for those that enjoy YA fiction and fairy tale adaptations. Some great characters that you will grow to love and adore.’

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

