Confessions of a Reader

'Reading gives us someplace to go when we have to stay where we are.' – Mason Cooley

Pushing the Limits – Katie McGarry (#1)

Leave a comment

“Because growing up means making tough choices, and doing the right thing doesn’t necessarily mean doing the thing that feels good.”

Pushing-the-limits

Synopsis taken from Amazon:

They say be a good girl, get good grades, be popular. They know nothing about me.

I can’t remember the night that changed my life. The night I went from popular to loner freak. And my family are determined to keep it that way. They said therapy was supposed to help. They didn’t expect Noah. Noah is the dangerous boy my parents warned me about. But the only one who’ll listen. The only one who’ll help me find the truth.

I know every kiss, every promise, every touch is forbidden. But what if finding your destiny means breaking all the rules? A brave and powerful novel about loss, change and growing up, but most of all love.

My Thoughts:

I actually read this book in Nov 2013 but thought I’d still review it on my blog. I had heard lots of good things about this novel on BookTube, so when I saw it in The Works (a bargain bookstore here in the UK) I snapped it up quick.

The story is based around two teenagers, Echo and Noah. Once a popular girl Echo is suddenly battling with memories of the most horrific night of her life. Noah is fighting for his visitation rights to his younger brothers. Echo believes Noah is a girl-using, angry guy with nothing better to do but get high. Noah thinks Echo is a strange, mysterious girl – but very attractive – with no social life. Their paths cross and they find that they have a lot in common.

There were many good elements of this novel. Firstly, the relationship build up between these two characters – believable, exciting with the ability to keep you guessing.  The character building was also brilliant. Both characters had a good, strong back story – the events in the book make perfect sense, everything moulds together successfully.

There were good elements of romance throughout. There are some ‘steamier’ moments. I certainly felt the passion and angst between the characters through Katie McGarry’s dialogue and attention to detail. I felt that I knew the characters well throughout the novel, their decisions were true to their individuality.

My favourite character was Noah. Katie McGarry managed to create a strong, bad-ass male protagonist with an underlying caring and vulnerable edge. The chemistry between him and Echo was evident from the start, the way this built up over time made it more engaging.

This book is a great YA read, full of teenage angst and drama. I have given it 3.5 stars for this reason. At times the teenage angst and drama got a little too much for me. Overall, an action-packed easy read with two great protagonists and a well developed plot.

     Source: Paperback       First Published: 3rd Aug 2012

Pages: 416                            Score: 3.5 out of 5

‘An action-packed, easy read – perfect for those interested in YA fiction. A great plot, mixed with well developed characters and a high-energy, passionate young romance.’

Author: Stacie

UK Lifestyle & Parenting Blogger. Dog Lover. Nutella Obsessed. Diet Coke Drinker.

Leave a Reply

